About Us

Our Story

Connecting LGBT+ Rotarians and friends since 2018

The LGBT Rotarians and Friends Fellowship came about after the Rotary International Conference in Atlanta, GA in 2017. During a panel discussion on LGBT+ inclusion in Rotary a question was asked regarding LGBT+ Rotarians and if a Fellowship or Rotary Action Group existed already with that theme. The answer was no. It was decided in that breakout session that a group should be created.

The LGBT Rotarians and Friends Rotary Fellowship was officially recognised as a Rotary Fellowship on June 22, 2018. It is a group dedicated to promoting global friendship, service, and education with the goal of creating an inclusive, understanding and welcoming community, fostering goodwill and peace, and realising a world that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for LGBT+ people.

join us

Make friends around the world and enhance your Rotary experience.

This fellowship’s membership is open to Rotarians, Rotarian Spouses, Family Members of Rotarians, Rotaractors, and any former Rotary Program Participants or Alumni of any background. The Fellowship is primarily a place in which members that meet these qualifications can meet others of a like mind to engage in Fellowship and hopefully to come together to do some good in the world.

Board of Directors

Meet our board

Michelle Wilson (she/her)

Michelle Wilson (she/her)

President (United States)

Michelle founded Athens Impact Socially Responsible Investments to deliver a comprehensive wealth management experience for clients focused on ethical impact investing principals. With over twenty years in the financial services industry, she earned the Accredited Investment Fiduciary® certification, Chartered Socially Responsible Investment Counselor® certifications, and holds the FINRA Series 7 and 66 licenses. On founding a business dedicated to sustainable practices, Michelle is grateful to be doing something that matters and makes a difference in the world.

In her personal life,  Michelle lives in a cabin on 30 wooded acres in Southeast Ohio. Her goal is to travel in her free time, while maintaining a self-sustainable lifestyle by the time she retires. She identifies as a cis-gender female who is pansexual and polyamorous. She enjoys spending time with her primary partner, Gil, and being near her children and their families. Michelle is an activist. She considers being one of the instigators and leaders involved in starting the LGBT fellowship as one of her great accomplishments in life. She dreams of a day when organizations like this are unnecessary because LGBT+ people have achieved equity all around the world.

Grant Godino (he/him)

Grant Godino (he/him)

President Elect (Australia)

Grant has been part of the Rotary family since 2008 having attended the Rotary Youth Leadership Award (RYLA). Since chartering Gateway Rotaract (Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, Grant has held the positions of District Rotaract Representative, Rotaract Australia chair, RYLA director, Rotary Youth Program of Enrichment director, and is currently the youth services director for Strathmore Rotary.

In his personal life, Grant lives with his partner Lee in the inner suburbs of Melbourne. Grant identifies as a cis-gender gay male. A teacher “by trade”, Grant is currently working for the Victorian state Education Department on a literacy and numeracy intervention project; supporting students who are at risk of finishing school without the literacy and numeracy skills they need for future work, education and training. Grant is passionate about diversity and inclusion and chairs the whole of Victorian Government LGBTIQ Pride Network. He is excited that through this fellowship we will get to start supporting Rotary to be inclusive and understanding of people in the LGBT+ community.

  • Secretary: Florencia Maurin (Argentina)
  • Treasurer: Ron Schoenmehl (USA)
  • Director, Education: Jack Fitzsimmons (USA)
  • Director, Friendship: Rick Golba (USA)
  • Director, Service: Monica Mulholland (New Zealand)
  • Director: Deb Knowles (USA)
  • Director: Pir Syed Ebrahim Shah (Pakistan)
  • Director: Wen Yue Huang (Taiwan)
  • Director: Anderson Zerwes (Brazil)

Governance documents